Blue Mountains Unions Council: Build A Better Future Campaign Launch


The Blue Mountains Unions Council extends a very warm invitation to all union members and supporters in the Blue Mountains and Hawkesbury to attend the launch of the ACTU's Build A Better Future campaign in the Federal electorate of Macquarie.

The event will take place at the Springwood Sports Club on Wednesday, August 12 at 7 pm. Drinks and finger food will be provided so to assist with catering we kindly request that you RSVP to ACTU Campaign Organiser Aaron Reynolds (areynolds@actu.org.au, 0418 661 706) by close of business on Friday, August 7.

If you are concerned about the Abbott government's ideologically-motivated attacks on Workers' Rights, Medicare, Education, Public Services, and Retirement Income, as well as its refusal to take on the tax-dodging big end of town then the Build A Better Future campaign needs you.

Are we going to stand idly by while the Abbott government resurrects its rotten WorkChoices legislation by stealth? Will we allow the China-Australia Free Trade Agreement to destroy the future of local jobs? Should we not stand up for the principle of universal healthcare and education? Do we not act in the face of savage cuts to our public broadcasters and the CSIRO? Do we not demand a fairer deal for superannuation and the aged pension? Should we not insist that multinational corporations pay their fair share of tax on their Australian profits?

We must Fight For Our Living Standards and unite to Build A Better Future. This is your chance to join what will quickly become the biggest grassroots movement in Australian history. Step one is to ensure that the Abbott government is not re-elected. Step two is to ensure that any alternative government implements our plan for a better future for ALL.

We look forward to seeing you all on the 12th of August.


Aaron Reynolds · · 0418661706


Lesina Losefo Ben Kirkwood Kerry Cooke Dave Butler Susan Lammiman james batchelor Mario Vinski Letitia Kemister Elaine Cameron Brian Kirkby Romola Hollywood Maurice Brady Ian Colquhoun Leo Solomon Nick Franklin Natalie Lang Tom Kelly Marie Fellbaum Korpi Kerry Brown John Bellingham Marjorie Bellingham Craig Smith Peter Buckney Cathy Cavanagh Ken Zajicek Lyn Trindall Noel Willis Colin Bull Jim Waldron Michael Little Chris Thomas Richard Collier Greg Chidgey Rodolfo Galaret Joseph Kevin Mercer Francesca Agosti Warren Ross Susan Templeman Deb Smith Denise Hennessy Lyn Bevington Chris  &  Jan Taylor Chris Sloane Tegan Cone Peter Clarke Miriam Norman Annabelle Solomon Mary Court

Add your comment

1  2  Next →


Wednesday, August 12, 2015


07:00 PM – 08:30 PM


Springwood Sports Club
83 Macquarie Rd
Springwood, NSW 2777

Google map and directions

Will you come?

Share this event