The Acting President, Com. P. Reid occupied the Chair.

PRESENT:  M. Morey [Secretary], E. Maiden [Assistant Secretary].

OPENING OF THE MEETING:  The Acting President, Com. P. Reid opened the meeting and in doing so recognised the traditional owners of the land on which the meeting was held, The Gadigal People of the Eora Nation.


The Secretary, Com. M. Morey moved:

“That the minutes from the meeting of 8 February 2018 as circulated be received.”

Com. M. Northam (IEU) seconded.


The Secretary, Com. M. Morey moved:                            

“That the minutes of the meeting of 8 February 2018 as circulated be adopted.”

Com. M. Styli (ETU) seconded.



From:  Community and Public Sector Union (CPSU): appointing Melissa Donnelly, Michael Tull, Nadine Flood, Rosemary Ryan and David Villegas as delegates for 2018.

From:  Shop Assistants and Warehouse Employees’ Federation of Australia, Newcastle and Northern, NSW (SDAN): appointing Barbara Nebart, David Bliss, Sally McDonald, Lyn Wiebe, Deb Dunning and Sally Yates as delegates for 2018.

From: Independent Education Union of Australia, NSW/ACT Branch (IEU): appointing John Quessy, Gloria Taylor, Mark Northam, Marilyn Jervis, Ann-Maree McEwan, James Jenkins-Flint, Patrick Devery and Aidan Anderson as delegates for 2018.

From: Shop Distributive and Allied Employees’ Association of NSW Branch (SDA): appointing Bernie Smith, Felicity Smithson, Elizabeth Cody, Judy Knight, Bernard Govind, Corrine Boyle, Robert Tonkli, Mitchell Worsley, Georgina Psillis, Monica Rose, Barry Hawkins and Phillip Walker as delegates for 2018.

From: Collieries’ Staff and Officials Association: Catherine Bolger and Kylie Rooke as delegates for 2018.

The Secretary, Com. M. Morey moved:

That the credentials be received and the delegates welcomed.” 

Com. T. O’Grady (NSWNMA) seconded.


APOLOGIES: Apologies were received and accepted for: J. Kiejda (President) T. Costa (UNSW), R. Fortescue (AMWU), D. Greenfield (CFMEU), P. Noack (AWU), A. Claassens (RTBU), B. Holmes (NSWNMA), G. Kelly (USU), D. McKinley (ETU), B. Smith (SDA) and M. Doherty.

The Secretary, Com. M. Morey moved: 

“That the apologies be received and accepted.” 

Com. P. Byrne (NSWNMA) seconded.



1.  From: Palm Sunday Rally Committee; writing to seek endorsement for the Palm Sunday rally for refugees for 2018, which will be held at 2pm Sunday 25 March at Belmore Park.

Over the last few years there have been nationwide rallies on Palm Sunday for refugee rights. In Sydney the rally is again being organised by a broad coalition including unions, church groups, Sydney Peace & Justice Coalition, Refugee Action Coalition, and other refugee rights groups.

The Turnbull government is continuing to whip up fear about refugees in an effort to recover its electoral support—even expanding to new targets such as African migrants and refugees. It is urgent that the Australian government take responsibility for the refugees on Manus Island and Nauru and Bring Them Here immediately. And it needs to welcome all refugees and provide fair processing and a secure future.

The Secretary, Com. M. Morey moved the Executive recommendation:

 “That the correspondence be received and Unions NSW endorses the Palm Sunday rally. We will publicise the event on social media and will circulate details to affiliates and encourage them to attend.”

Com. E. Callachor (USU) seconded.



1. Vale The Hon Grant McBride - Former ALP State Member for the Entrance
Details of the Funeral Arrangements are: 
11am on  Friday 16th February 2018, At St Mary’s Catholic Church, 458 Main Road,  Noraville 
A wake will follow at Toowoon Bay Surf Life Saving Club, 160 Bay Rd, Toowoon Bay

2. Fix NSW Transport Rally

Join us on Saturday for the Fix NSW Transport Rally.  This is an opportunity to stand up and say it loud and clear that we all deserve a better public transport system.  We deserve a Government that invests in our public transport system and its workforce, not a Government obsessed with privatisation.
Time:        1:30pm for 2pm on Saturday 17 February 2018
Location:   Outside RTBU Office at 321 Pitt St, Sydney

3. Union Pride – Fair Day 2018 Victoria Park (Opposite Broadway Shops)
Sunday 18th February 2018 from 10am – 4pm
We Won’t Wait Petitions and selling our NEW Union Pride T-Shirts on the day for $45 each (Aussie Made + Union Made

4. Unions NSW Annual General Meeting 2018 will be held on Thursday 22 February 2018
5:30pm – 6.30pm    Trades Hall, Auditorium
Drinks and finger food will be served in the Atrium following the AGM

5. Memorial Service  In memory of a great Trade Unionist

Don McDonald, AM 15/2/1938 – 5/1/2018  
Please join Don’s family and the CFMEU
Wednesday 28th February 2018 from 9.30am  
Trades Hall Auditorium, 377 Sussex St, Sydney
Light refreshments will be provided in The Atrium following this service
RSVP by 16/2/2018 Leza - (02) 9749 0403 or lturnbull@cfmeu.org

6. Save the Date - Union Lawyers and Industrial Officers’ Annual Labour Law Conference 2018
Thursday 1st and Friday 2nd March 2018 - Sydney Trades Hall Auditorium, Lower Ground Floor,- Entry via 377 Sussex Street, Sydney

With a line-up of specialised speakers including; Guest Speaker, Justice Iain Ross, President, Fair Work Commission.

Enquiries: Rose Docwra at Unions NSW

7. Union Pride Float – Sydney Mardi Gras 2018  Saturday 3 March 2018

To register to be in the Union Pride float this year before Monday 19th February 2018 : https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/UP2018

8. AFTINET is holding a public forum on the
  TPP: Impacts on Women.
Friday 9th March, 12:30pm-1:30pm
Jubilee Room, NSW Parliament House, Macquarie St Sydney.

9. International Women’s Day March  10:00am, Saturday 10 March 2018
Archibald Fountain, Hyde Park North


Tagged: Minutes  /   News

Add your comment